Fluids Lab Report Homework: Venturi & Orifice Coefficients

In summary, the conversation was about writing a report on an experiment conducted in a school lab to measure the rate of flow of fluids using orifice plate and venturi meters. The experiment aimed to find the discharge coefficients of both meters. The person was seeking help in answering two questions regarding their findings and sources of error. They also mentioned the difference in discharge coefficients between the two meters and wondered if it indicated accuracy.
ryanuser

Homework Statement

I have to write a report based on an experiment I conducted with the class in the school lab. The experiment was about orifice plate meter and venturi meter (both to measure rate of flow of fluids; this is an introductory fluids mechanics module I am studying). The experiment was designed to find the discharge coefficients of the orifice and the venturi meters. After I find the relative discharge coefficients, I must now answer two questions, one is " give brief comments on the measured values of the discharge coefficient for the venture meter and the office plate meter." and the other is "comment on sources of error in your measurements and their impact". I just need some ideas on how to answer these two questions. Please help.

Thanks

Homework Equations

Discharge coeficient= Q(actual)/Q(theoretical)

The Attempt at a Solution

Do I start by talking about how they differ? The coeficient of the venturi meter is closer to zero, does that mean venturi meter is more accurate?[/B]

Physics news on Phys.org
If I were you I'd revise my relevant equation ! That is not the definition of a discharge coefficient.
plenty hints with a little googling !

1. What is the purpose of a fluids lab report on Venturi and Orifice coefficients?