Forgetting a Term: Country Expands Borders on Religious Beliefs

• Thread starter JohnPrior3
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Term
In summary: For example, the Mandate of Heaven is often seen as a justification or legitimization of rule by a monarch, while the Divine Right of Kings is an assertion of the right of a monarch to rule because of the divine authority vested in them by God.
JohnPrior3
I know this is physics forums and I am a physicist. I figure the people out here are well read beyond the realm of physics. I am trying to remember the term that describes a country should expand its borders based on religious belief. I am writing a paper, and I cannot come up with the name of the term for the life of me. It isn't a modern term and doesn't apply to Islam. Please help!

Physics news on Phys.org
this would about fit that bill ...

from Wiki ...

The Crusades were military campaigns sanctioned by the Latin Roman Catholic Church during the High Middle Ages and Late Middle Ages. In 1095 Pope Urban II proclaimed the First Crusade with the stated goal of restoring Christian access to holy places in and near Jerusalem. Many historians and some of those involved at the time, like Saint Bernard of Clairvaux, give equal precedence to other papal-sanctioned military campaigns undertaken for a variety of religious, economic, and political reasons, such as the Albigensian Crusade, the Aragonese Crusade, the Reconquista, and the Northern Crusades.[1] Following the First Crusade there was an intermittent 200-year struggle for control of the Holy Land, with six more major crusades and numerous minor ones. In 1291, the conflict ended in failure with the fall of the last Christian stronghold in the Holy Land at Acre, after which Roman Catholic Europe mounted no further coherent response in the east.