From simple scientific computing into beginning development

In summary, the person is asking for advice on how to start learning computer science. They say they want to learn to create real world software, but they don't know where to start. They ask for advice on which language to learn, how to start, and what to study.
Acid92
Hey guys I need some advice: I am a Math/Physics freshman whos pretty much a noob to programming in general; I have some experience with Fortran (taught as part of laboratory) and Python (self taught) but only in the context of elementary numerical methods / scientific computing. I have basically no clue about actual computer science (e.g. algorithms, architecture, systems, networks etc) or software development but would like to begin to learn it as a hobby. My goal for now is to be able to at least begin to learn non-trivial stuff in actual real world development (e.g. games, apps, systems, web etc), the only problem is I don't know where to start / how to go about it. I live in the UK so I can't take computer science and development courses at uni (only allowed a strict range of Math/Physics courses for my degree).

I get the impression that the first thing I need to do is to learn a popular language like C, C++ or Java. Since I am interested in actual computer science, I reckon C would be best since it's a middle level language? However, programming texts only teach you the syntax of the language, how do you go about learning actual development? I mean I've been looking for non-trivial projects in Python but the little I've found seems to involve things like advanced GUIs, databases, networking etc which I don't know.

I guess what I am asking is, once you learn a popular/used language, what then? How do you enter, or at least approach, the world of real world software development?

Physics news on Phys.org