Functional Analysis exchange year at Imperial

In summary, an expert summarizer would say that FA is a language used for the mathematical study of subjects such as partial differential equations, stochastic processes, or operator algebras, and that it can be taught in different ways, even at the introductory level. They would also say that it is related to Stochastic Processes in some ways.
George444fg
Hey,

I would like to do an exchange year at Imperial. I would like to follow as a physicist the Functional Analysis course. However, I have not heard the best things about this peculiar course. What is the audience opinion on that?

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org
Hi, @George444fg no personal experience, but yes a personal impression: go ahead, Imperial is on top among international universities
Good Luck!

I had a good experience at Imperial College and would recommend it if you can get in. I studied electronics engineering although I really enjoyed PhySoc and mingled with the students there too. The university has a lot of resources and I felt like the classes were taught well. I felt like it had a good faculty to student ratio so it was easier to conenct with the professors (even some research opportunities); I was also surrounded by a bunch of very talented students and built some good relationships to help each other (I would like to think I was helpful too 🙃).

I don't know much about the class you're asking about probably because of my major, but I didn't hear any of my friends complain about it. Given the above... though... I personally wouldn't get caught up over one (or two) classes.

Likes S.G. Janssens
George444fg said:
peculiar course
😳😂

Where I studied, students in theoretical physics would usually take an introductory FA course.