Generator Sizing: Calculate & Consider Prime/Standby Ratings

In summary, the speaker discusses load testing for generator sizing and the use of a power and energy logger. They explain that the generator should be sized according to kVA and the diesel engine producing active power should be sized according to kW. They also ask for guidance on calculating generator sizing and the parameters to consider. Finally, they inquire about the difference between prime rating and standby rating for sizing the generator.
Gopal
Good day,

I have been working on load testing for generator sizing of various premises and I used a power and energy logger to do the load testing.

The results came out good, now that I got max apparent power in kVA and the max true power in kW.

My question is how should I calculate the generator sizing and what parameters should I consider in the calculation as I have never done this before, please let me know your thoughts on it.

Also what is the difference between the prime rating and standby rating for sizing the generator.

Engineering news on Phys.org
Gopal said:
I got max apparent power in kVA and the max true power in kW.
My question is how should I calculate the generator sizing and what parameters should I consider in the calculation

The generator itself must be sized according to kVA. It is the absolute current in the generator that heats up the coils in the generator, and could harm the generator by doing so.

Say you have a diesel engine to produce the active power, it must be sized according to kW. The diesel engine cannot "sense" reactive power.

Gopal said:
Also what is the difference between the prime rating and standby rating for sizing the generator.

https://www.google.dk/search?q=prim...&oe=utf-8&gws_rd=cr&ei=d4pUVdCRIMfO7ga79oCQBw

Related to Generator Sizing: Calculate & Consider Prime/Standby Ratings

1. What is generator sizing?