Go to Hong Kong for PhD vs. stay in Europe for Masters

In summary: Then doing a PhD here might be the best decision for you.In summary, the physics student is considering whether to do a PhD now in Hong Kong or to wait and do a PhD in a more prestigious university. While the name of the university may not be as prestigious as some others, the student thinks that their work and accomplishments will outweigh the lack of name recognition.
jasonger
Hi everybody, I have been thinking about this topic for weeks, without getting a definitive answer...

I am a physics student in Heidelberg, Germany, just graduated with my Bachelor. I have worked on a research project in Hong Kong (from which I'll likely have my first publication) and have a chance to continue for a PhD there directly. The Prof is very well known in his field and I think is very supportive and the working environment is good. (Of course I also think the field is pretty cool). So generally it sounds like a very good plan to me, I also know several recent graduates from this group who got good post-doc or industry positions in Europe/Asia pretty soon.

However, the "name" of the university of course is not on par with the top schools in US/UK(/CAN).
If there are chances, I would like to stay in academia for a bit after a PhD, if not go industry at some point. Also, I would actually really like to move to Canada at some point in my life (best get permanent residency or citizenship over there). So I was wondering if doing this PhD now in HK would be a limiting factor to any of those career/life plans or if it would be better to stay in Germany for the Master and then get a PhD in Canada (but then of course, I would start from scratch).