Is University reputation considered when I am applying for a PhD in Europe?

• Thread starter Slimy0233
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Europe
Slimy0233
Hello there, I am currently studying for a entrance exam to get into a masters program in either IITs (Indian institute of Technology) or NITs (National Institute of Technology) and by the looks of it, it's seeming more and more likely that I would get an NIT.

NITs have a slightly bad reputation than IITs in India. The IITs are the creme de la creme of Indian universities but NIT's are for people who don't get IITs. This would not have been the end of the world had it not been for the fact that I don't want to do a PhD in India (having heard terrible reviews for it from the ones who have done it). I want to move out of here for good when I finish my Masters, so I was wondering if the reputation of the institute was a deal breaker when it came to applying for PhD's (in Europe particularly) or would a good GRE Physics, research proposal help me while applying for a University?

Any suggestion would be helpful.

Edit: Actual helpful answers are very much appreciated. I am depressed and in pretty bad shape right now and I have gotten no sleep since 1 day.

Last edited by a moderator:
Likes WWGD
Physics news on Phys.org
Slimy0233 said:
Actual helpful answers are very much appreciated.
This sounds a lot like "tell me what I want to hear." A lot.

Do you really think the university quality doesn't matter? Seriously? That your odds would be the same coming from some place with a poor reputation than Harvard or Oxford? Seriously? This just reinforces my belief that you want us to tell you what you want to hear.