Help for Struggling Postdoc: PhD in Maths & Career Change

• Thread starter measure
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Postdoc
In summary: Having some problems with motivation and have to force myself to work - probably because I've had an office to myself since July (a colleague will come back soon) and so discuss mathematics with other people only occasionally.This might be due to the fact that you are in a new and unfamiliar place, which can be a bit daunting. You might want to try to get involved in extracurricular activities or join a mathematics discussion group to get more involved in the community.I'm frustrated by the difficulty and uncertainty of research in pure mathematics - there is no way to know if, when or how you will make any progress.This can be frustrating, but it is important to remember that research in mathematics is often unpredictable.
measure
I have a phd in pure maths from a highly ranked university in the UK. During the PhD I was quite lucky and had a good supervisor so managed to get several decent publications. I'm now half way through my first (2 year) postdoc abroad in a very good, but much smaller, university in a non English speaking country (I'm also attending language courses). We have a few joint author publications so far and quite soon I need to decide if I want to apply for another postdoc or not.

Previously I always thought I would continue with pure maths but I am having a lot of doubts - the reasons for these include:
-There are not many places in my research area in the UK so another postdoc would potentially mean moving to another foreign country again. I've already felt lonely through this postdoc; the USA is very far from the UK and if I move within Europe I will have language problems again.