How Can a Beginner Tackle Learning Java and Android Programming?

In summary: Java and OOP in general. And it's very low cost.In summary, the individual is an undergraduate who has been given a scholarship to conduct research with a professor. They have been tasked with learning Java and programming Android apps, even though they have no prior programming experience. The individual is feeling overwhelmed and unsure of how to approach the task. Suggestions are given to break down the information and learn through practice and setting specific goals. It is noted that while it takes years to become a proficient software developer, it is possible to learn the basics of Java and Android development in a couple of months with dedication and practice. Additionally, the use of MIT's App Inventor software is suggested as a way to start creating
axmls
I'm an undergraduate, and I have a scholarship to help do research with one of my professors. He's assigned me to learn Java and how to program Android apps.

I have absolutely no programming experience. It seems like they expect me to get it down in a couple of weeks, but there is just so much information to take in. How should I break down all the information so that I can pick out the important parts and actually be able to do something productive? It seems like every time I start to study it, I just get bogged down in the massive amount of information coming at me, and I end up not learning anything in depth.

Technology news on Phys.org
axmls said:
I'm an undergraduate, and I have a scholarship to help do research with one of my professors. He's assigned me to learn Java and how to program Android apps.