How can an atom change from ground to excited state?

In summary, the conversation discussed the distinction between ground and excited states of atoms, and how an atom can transition from one state to another through the absorption and emission of energy. The concept of hyperfine states, which are due to the interaction between the spin of the nucleus and the spin of the outermost electron, was also explained. The conversation also touched on the definition of the cesium atom at rest at 0 K and how it relates to the concept of line shift due to the Doppler effect.
ConfusedRookie
I am currently studying a Foundation Program, which includes chemistry.
-I can easily understand the distinguishable characteristics between ground and excited state via writing the electron configuration.
-But how can an tom changes from ground to excited state ? And can an atom changes from ground to excited state if it's at rest ?

Physics news on Phys.org
ConfusedRookie said:
But how can an tom changes from ground to excited state ?
By receiving certain amount of energy which equals the energy gap between the ground and that excited state.
ConfusedRookie said:
an an atom changes from ground to excited state if it's at rest ?
I don't understand what you mean there.

blue_leaf77 said:
I don't understand what you mean there.

I think he means the phenomena of spontaneous emission.

The answer to that one is rather advanced, but I will give it anyway:
http://www.physics.usu.edu/torre/3700_Spring_2015/What_is_a_photon.pdf

Its because an electron is coupled to the quantum EM field that permeates all space so really isn't in a stationary state. At some unpredictable time it will spontaneous;y emit a photon by Fermi's Golden Rule for perturbations:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fermi's_golden_rule

The fact it isn't strictly stationary can be considered a small perturbation from it actually being stationary.

Thanks
Bill

Last edited:
bhobba said: