How Can I Create a Circuit to Toggle a Keyboard Key?

In summary: I don't know how to handle this.If you want to use a relay what are the specs on the relay? Can you turn the relay on if you apply 5V from an external power supply, if so what is the current draw?
pookshuman
Please help me find a circuit schematic :)

Hello, First let me say i am NOT an expert and have very little knowledge of electronics. I am able to solder and build simple circuits, but I don't have any training and I understand almost nothing about how electricity works.

I am looking for an electrical schematic. My goal is to turn a key on my computer keyboard on and off repeatedly at an adjustable rate (between 1-10 Hz.) I already have lead wires connected to the key, and it turns on and off correctly if I connect the wire leads.

Ideally, the power source for the circuit would be 5.2 volts from a USB plug, but I can get an external power source if that is not enough. So far, I have tried using a relay connected to an LM3909 LED flasher. Unfortunately, since this was designed to power an LED, there was not enough power to trip the relay.

Please let me know if you can direct me to any solutions on the web, such as premade schematics that could be easily adjusted for this.

Thank you very much!

Engineering news on Phys.org

What is this key for if you don't mind asking, there might be a better way.

If you want to use a relay what are the specs on the relay? Can you turn the relay on if you apply 5V from an external power supply, if so what is the current draw?

A USB port generally supplies 500 mA. If you measure how much of it is drawn by the keyboard you will know how much is left.

waht said:
What is this key for if you don't mind asking, there might be a better way.

If you want to use a relay what are the specs on the relay? Can you turn the relay on if you apply 5V from an external power supply, if so what is the current draw?