How difficult is Topology for a pure Physics student?

In summary, topology is a relatively easy mathematics subject, but requires some familiarity with proofs and set theory.
rwooduk
Hi, I'm hoping someone here can shed some light,

I'm currently in my 3rd year of my Physics degree and have discovered I really don't have the mind to memorise / reproduce paragraphs of text. Even if I understand the concepts it takes me a LONG time for my brain to take text in. Maths however I find much easier and feel as though I understand it and can learn it with less effort.

So to my question, I'm on track to do a Bionanophysics module in my final semester and thinking of changing it to topology. I have real trouble grasping biology and remembering everything. Topology sounds interesting and would be much preferred to learning any Biology. But how difficult is the subject? Obviously I have covered a lot of maths in my Physics module, but is it a topic that goes above and beyond?

Thanks in advance for any input!

Physics news on Phys.org
If you have the right background, then topology really shouldn't be that difficult. In fact, it's a really visual and intuitive piece of mathematics, and for that reasons it should really be fun for physics students.

But on the other hand, topology is the generalization of certain mathematical things which you need to know first. Specifically, you need to be comfortable with epsilon-delta definitions of continuity and sequences. And it helps to be familiar with metric spaces. My advice to you is to self-study metric spaces so that you really have an intuitive feel for the concepts. There's quite a lot of terminology involved, but it's really important to have the concepts right. Self-studying metric spaces shouldn't take a lot of effort, there's not a lot you need to know anyway.

Likes rwooduk and Greg Bernhardt
micromass said: