How do I determine the force and torque requirements for a 12V DC car jack?

• Thread starter Othman Safarini
  • Start date
  • Tags
    12v Car Dc
In summary: In this case, we need to convert the pressure and force to the torque needed from the motor. However, for the kind of power coming from a lighter socket, it may be more efficient to use muscle power or consider an air bag with an electric fan.
Othman Safarini
< Moderator Note -- thread moved from ME forum to Homework Help/Engineering >

Hi,

I Am an electrical engineering student and I want to make a 12 DC car jack for my senior project, but till now I couldn't find the informations I need to start the project.

How to calculate the force and torque needed to lift the car ?
And which one is better : hydraulic bottle jack or scissor car jack for the project ?

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org
When you say, "12 DC" are you referring to 12 volts DC?

Have you taken statics? That is what you need to calculate the force required to lift the car. Without that knowledge, you will be ill equipped (even dangerous) to take on this task.

Dr.D said:
When you say, "12 DC" are you referring to 12 volts DC?

Have you taken statics? That is what you need to calculate the force required to lift the car. Without that knowledge, you will be ill equipped (even dangerous) to take on this task.

Yes , I'm referring to 12 volts DC.
The idea of the project is to build an electric car jack that powered by 12 volt electricity supplied directly from the car's cigarette lighter receptacle.

One thing that might be a concern is that the cigarette lighter is in a circuit protected by a fuse. In my car, for example, the lighter circuit has a 7.5A fuse. If I were to hook up a motor drawing, say 10A, it would blow this fuse in my car.

What's the answer to Dr D's second question?