How Do You Calculate the Temperature Rise of a Bimetallic Strip in an MCB?

• Thread starter physiomaniac
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Calculation
In summary, the conversation discusses the theoretical calculation of the temperature rise of a bimetallic strip used in an MCB. The speaker has the necessary dimensions and properties of the strip, as well as practical values for current passed. However, the current equation being used does not account for heat loss and the varying resistivity over time. Assistance is requested in correcting the equation by including a convective heat transfer term.
physiomaniac
I am studying the bimetallic strip used in MCB.
I am trying to theoretically calculate the temperature rise of the strip when 1.13In (safe value of current for which the MCB shouldnot trip) is passed through the bimetallic strip. I am having the dimensions, resistivity, modulus of elasticity, flexivity, density of the strip.

I even have the practical values with me for ever few secons of current passed.
I tried to use the relation MC(dT)=I^2Rt
that is all the heat generated is used in the temperature rise.
But practically other things need to be considered like heat loss with environment, also the above formula holds good for only few seconds and here the resistivity I have taken constant will also vary.
Please help me out with a relevant solution.

Physics news on Phys.org
To correct the equation being used, one would need to include a convective heat transfer term, using an estimated heat transfer coefficient to the surroundings.

Related to How Do You Calculate the Temperature Rise of a Bimetallic Strip in an MCB?

1. How does a bimetallic strip work?

A bimetallic strip is composed of two different metals bonded together, each with different coefficients of thermal expansion. When the strip is heated, one metal expands more than the other, causing the strip to bend towards the side of the metal that expands more.