How Do You Compute Gaussian Functional Integrals in Quantum Field Theory?

In summary: D \phi e^{-S} \propto \mathrm{exp} \left[ \theta \int dx~d \tau \frac{\partial^2 \theta}{\partial x^2} \right]Finally, we can use the Gaussian integral formula to solve this and get the following result: \int D \phi e^{-S} = \sqrt{\frac{\pi}{\theta}}.In summary, to compute the given integral, we first rewrite it in a more convenient form and then use the formula for Gaussian integrals. We can identify the necessary variables and operators and simplify the integral to get the final result. I hope this helps.
psi*psi
I am new to path integral and struggling with the computation involving Gaussian functional integrals. Could anyone show me the steps of computing the following integral?
[tex] \int D \phi e^{-S},[/tex]
where
[tex] S = \int dx~d \tau [(\frac{\partial \phi}{\partial x})^2+2 i \frac{\partial \theta}{\partial \tau} \frac{\partial \phi}{\partial x} ][/tex].
[itex] \theta [/itex] is a function that is not being integrated over.
I know I am supposed to use the formula
[tex] \int D v(x) \mathrm{exp}[-\frac{1}{2} \int d x d x'~v(x) A(x,x') v(x') + \int d x~j(x) v(x)] \propto \mathrm{exp} [\frac{1}{2} \int d x d x'~j(x) A^{-1}(x,x') j(x')],[/tex]
where [itex] A(x,x') [/itex] is an operator. But I am having trouble in applying this result.

Thanks in advance.

Physics news on Phys.org

Hello,

I understand that you are new to path integral and are struggling with the computation involving Gaussian functional integrals. I will try my best to explain the steps involved in computing the given integral.

Firstly, let's rewrite the given integral in a more convenient form:

\int D \phi e^{-S} = \int D \phi \mathrm{exp} \left[ -\int dx~d \tau (\frac{\partial \phi}{\partial x})^2 - 2 i \int dx~d \tau \frac{\partial \theta}{\partial \tau} \frac{\partial \phi}{\partial x} \right]

Now, we can use the formula you mentioned: