How does a metering device on an A/C lower the pressure?

In summary, the conversation discusses the role of the metering device in an air-conditioning system and how it affects the temperature of the refrigerant. The student has some questions about how the metering device works and what causes the temperature of the refrigerant to decrease. They also mention a classmate's explanation that the refrigerant's temperature decreases due to the metering device changing the refrigerant from liquid to a mixture of liquid and vapor. The student is unsure about this explanation and seeks clarification from their instructor.
fourthindiana
Preface: Some people call the metering device on an air-conditioner the "expansion device". When I refer to the metering device in this post, metering device is synonymous with expansion device.
______________________________________________________________________________________

I'm a student attending a HVAC program at a trade school. My instructor has drawn pictorial diagrams of air-conditioning systems that cool houses before. In a typical pictorial diagram that my instructor has drawn of a residential air-conditioning system, the refrigerant will typically be labeled as 100 degrees Fahrenheit immediately after the refrigerant leaves the condenser coil. When the refrigerant is in the middle of the evaporator coil, my instructor will typically label the refrigerant as 40 degrees Fahrenheit.

Here are some facts I know already about air-conditioners:
  • I know that the metering device changes the pressure of the refrigerant from high pressure to low pressure.
  • I know that when the refrigerant enters the metering device, the refrigerant is 100% liquid.
  • I know that when refrigerant goes through the metering device, the metering device changes the refrigerant from 100% liquid to a flashgas mixture of 65% liquid/35% vapor (or 75% liquid/25% vapor).