How does Earth's rotation affect our movement?

Clair de Lune
TL;DR Summary
Even though Earth's linear and constant motion, shouldn't it affect our movement? I've never been able to understand why it takes the same amount of hours to reach the same distances by plane, regardless of the direction of travel.
How is it possible that Earth's rotation doesn't affect our relative velocity? In other words, if I walk in the opposite direction of Earth's rotation, shouldn't I reach destinations faster than if I walk in the same direction?

Sorry if the terms are not that accurate, I’m an architect!

Physics news on Phys.org
Welcome to PF.
Clair de Lune said:
In other words, if I walk in the opposite direction of Earth's rotation, shouldn't I reach destinations faster than if I walk in the same direction?
All things are relative.

If you walk towards the west, you weigh more than when you walk towards the east. That slows you down when walking on soft ground. It happens because Earth's rotation reduces your weight by about 0.3%.

The time also depends on how many time zones you cross, and if you cross the dateline.

If your destination is 1 km east of your current position, you will not get there quicker if you walk west.

• Skeptical
Likes russ_watters and jbriggs444
Clair de Lune said:
How is it possible that Earth's rotation doesn't affect our relative velocity?
The answer depends a bit on how you choose to frame the question. Perhaps the most straightforward way is to imagine being in a spaceship hovering above the Earth watching the world turn. You could watch a person sitting in a chair on the equator. They are moving at 1000mph in a circle.