How does ultrasonic oscillation reduce sliding friction?

In summary, ultrasonic cutting with a blade produces a "cocoon effect" that virtually eliminates sticking.
foodstarch87
Hi everyone!

Sorry if I'm not able to work through this problem very much myself... I'm a Food Science student, and I'm trying to read an article about ultrasonic cutting when applied to apple slicing. From the papers they reference, the rapid vibrations on the blade reduce the friction coefficient significantly, but I can't understand why that is the case.

In the end, the friction coefficient is simplified down to μ ≅ 2/π (ζ)
where ζ = (moving velcocity) / (vibrational velocity)

The lower the ratio of the blade velocity to the vibrational velocity, the lower the frictional coefficient. I can't really follow the actual derivation very well, since I've only dealt with friction at the most basic level (like mostly up to F = μN...).

Any help with deconstructing the steps in the article would be highly appreciated! I'll try my best to follow and work through it too! Mostly looking for a basic explanation for what's going on. It just doesn't make intuitive sense to me.

Thanks!

Attachments

• Sliding friction in the presence of ultrasonic oscillations superposition of longitudinal osci...pdf
    133.2 KB · Views: 144
Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org
Um, Static friction vs Dynamic friction ??

FWIW, I used related technique to move our massive steel lab-benches. Took 'Three Large Guys' or just skinny me. Trick was to use the bench frame's slight flexibility. I'd pull a bench, then kick the nearest leg to start it. The bench would wriggle, its legs became pendulums, and I'd 'walk' it along the aisle without further ado...

Likes foodstarch87