How many equations is the standard model composed of

In summary, General Relativity is summarized with one equation but within it, there are 15 equations packed. The Standard Model of particle physics, on the other hand, consists of multiple equations and is more complex compared to General Relativity. However, to truly understand and solve physics problems, it is important to first grasp the concepts behind the equations. The use of Feynman diagrams has greatly simplified the notation of QED and has been a key factor in its success. It is not logical to count equations as the complexity and length of an equation do not determine its significance or usefulness.
gamow99
Roughly speaking General Relativity is summarized with one equation but 15 or so equations are packed within it. Sorry if that's wrong, but I'm not an expert or anything. (If I could get an answer to that questions I would appreciate it to). I saw once a physicist show me a finite list of how many equations the Standard Model is composed of as an argument that it must not be the whole story seeing as GR is so simple and so elegant and is only composed of one equation. So how many equations do you have to master if you want to learn the Standard Model of particle physics. I have found this page
http://blogs.discovermagazine.com/cosmicvariance/2006/11/23/thanksgiving/#.WZ_2-Xd94qI
and on it I can count 15 equations.

Physics news on Phys.org
gamow99 said: