How to Create a Multiplication Matrix in MATLAB?

In summary, the author is trying to create a multiplication matrix, but does not know how to write a code to do it. He finds help on the Mathworks website and finds that he needs to use the colon operator to extract / work with an entire row / column.
twotaileddemon
Hi, I'm new to MATLAB and I have a problem:

I am trying to create a multiplication matrix of sorts.

The first row will have numbers from 0 to 1 in steps of .0101
The first column will have the same, from 0 to 1 in steps of .0101
Then to generate the rest I will multiple each entry in the column by their corresponding row.
For example, the 2nd column, 2nd row entry will be .0101 * .0101
It will look like this:
0 .0101 .0202 ... 1
.0101 (.0101 * .0101) (.0101 * .0202) ... 1
1 ( 1 * .0101) (1 * .0202) ... 1

The problem is, I don't know how to write a code to do this. I'm sure it involves a loop of some sort with indexing from 1 to 100. Can someone help me?

I thought this might help somewhere:
indexfinal=99;
0:1/indexfinal:1;
Indeed, it gives me the steps of .0101 I'm looking for.
I just don't know how to make it so that I can create a matrix like the aboveformentioned.

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
The great thing about MATLAB is that you can use vectorization (operations on vectors, or 1-D arrays) to speed things up. It doesn't do anything in parallel (I think) but it should go faster than if you had to loop everything using a double loop.

Do you know how to use the colon operator to extract / work with an entire row / column? If you had some m x n matrix (m rows by n columns) named foo, you could extract just the 2nd row (to, say, vector bar) by typing in the following:
>> bar = foo(2, :)

Or if you wanted the 3rd column, you'd type in:
>> bar = foo(:, 3)

You can also mix and match and select just the subset of rows 2-5, and columns 3-7:
>> bar = foo(2:5, 3:7)