How to recommend a research mentor for a faculty position?

In summary, the conversation discusses the idea of an undergraduate student writing a recommendation letter for their research professor who is applying for a faculty position at an Australian university. The student has concerns about the effectiveness of their letter and whether it could potentially harm the professor's application. Ultimately, it is advised that the student should not write the letter and instead express their gratitude to the professor once their project is completed.
PrinceWalnut
Hi all!

I'm an undergrad in physics in the USA, and a research professor I've been working with for the past ~2 years is applying for an open faculty position at an Australian university. She hasn't asked me to recommend her in any way, and I know that in all likelihood the word of some undergraduate from some American school may not mean much to the department hiring for the position, but I'd like to write a recommendation letter both as an expression of gratitude (though I don't intend to tell her about it) and also because I do think she would be a wonderful candidate for the job. Is there any advice on how I can best go about doing this? Some things that they would care about that I can speak to as an undergraduate research student of hers? I'd also like to know if there are any potential ways my word could hurt her, since I am doing this without telling her, and wouldn't want to accidentally sabotage her application through carelessness.

Also, this is a university I happen to be currently applying to for PhD studies. Not because she's moving there, but simply because there are research groups in the department I'd be interested in working with.

Advice here would be much appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Physics news on Phys.org