How to recover GPA in order to apply to Master's programs?

In summary: Trying to cram all the knowledge in your head can be counterproductive and cause stress.In summary, if you want to be a competitive candidate for Medical Physics with the undergraduate coursework you have remaining, you will need to improve your GPA considerably. You will need to focus on studying differently, reading ahead, getting help from other students, and managing your time effectively.
JDBravo
I'm an undergrad aspiring to be a candidate for a MS in Medical Physics. I came into freshman year as a physics major, did poor in my first physics class, and changed my major to business. After realizing that was a mistake after a year, I switched back to physics. My Major GPA is a 2.0 after 10 credit hours (a D freshman year and B in the repeat junior year). Cumulative is a 2.68. I didn't know how to study because I never had to in high school. I got a 780 SAT and 35 ACT in math, so I know I'm capable.

I still have to take Calculus 2, 3, and Differential Equations, Modern Physics (relativity, particle physics, photoelectric effect, blackbody radiation), Theoretical Techniques, E&M, Analytical Mechanics, Optics, 2 physics labs, and a programming class. Is it realistic to raise my GPA high enough to be a competitive candidate for Medical Physics with the undergrad coursework I have remaining? I go to IU-Bloomington, and have the option to take grad credit Medical Physics classes as an undergrad too, and I very well may since I already have my general degree requirements out of the way.

If not, is it a possibility to take more classes after graduation to raise my GPA in order to find a program? I put myself in a hole, but I would stay in college as long as it takes to get accepted into a program.

Thanks in advance for any advice you may have!

Physics news on Phys.org