If the wave function is complex and the measurement is real

In summary, the author is misunderstanding the nature of a real measurement and the effect it has on the wave function.
rasp
Would not any real measurement taken on a complex state logically require that the results of the measurement have less information than the state? Although I’m just beginning in QM, it appears to me unsurpring that a real measurement on the complex wave function seems to collapse the wave function into a specific value. Where is the controversy that I’m missing?

Physics news on Phys.org
rasp said:
Would not any real measurement taken on a complex state logically require that the results of the measurement have less information than the state?
There's no complex/real involved here. Of course a measurement provides less information than the state, and classical mechanics works the same way. For example, the state of a cannonball fired with a speed of 100 m/sec towards me from a cannon 100 meters to my right is clearly a different state than that of a cannonball fired towards me from a cannon 100 meters to my left. However, a position measurement performed one second after the cannon fires will not distinguish between the two states - the cannonball is in the same place either way.
Although I’m just beginning in QM, it appears to me unsurpring that a real measurement on the complex wave function seems to collapse the wave function into a specific value.