I'm forced to take a gap before uni, how will it affect me?

• Schools
  • Thread starter FlyingPhysicist
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Gap Uni
In summary, the speaker is an 18-year-old who graduated high school with an 88% average and took several science and engineering courses. They also worked with their country's national space agency and participated in a large science fair. However, due to mandatory military service, they will have to take a year and four months off before continuing their education. They are concerned about how this gap will affect their chances of getting into a good university and if it matters where they study physics as an undergrad. They have been admitted to several universities in the UK and plan to apply to other schools in Canada and the US. They are seeking recommendations for good institutions.
FlyingPhysicist
Hi. I am an 18-year-old guy who graduated HS last July with an average of 88%. I studied AP Physics C, AP Calculus AB and took a uni-level class in Energy physics, among other science and engineering related courses like Java programming, Autocad and Inventor. I Also worked with my country's national space agency, got interviewed on TV for my HS graduation project and reached the finals of the largest science fair in my country. But now I have to take a 1 year and 4 months gap before I am able to continue my education because of my country's obligatory military service program. I was wondering if taking such a long gap would affect my chances of getting into a good university because now I feel that all the hard work I put in would be discredited by top universities because of the large gap I'm forced to take.
I was also wondering if it matters where I study physics as an undergrad given that I wish to continue into grad school after my bachelors.

I got admitted to the following universities in the UK so far and was wondering if they would qualify me to get into a prestigious grad school.
1. Durham University