Importance of E&M for physics grad school

In summary, the speaker is a recent graduate with a BS in physics and math. They are considering pursuing a PhD in physics, but are unsure about their interest in E&M and their career path. They have enjoyed classes in quantum mechanics and statistical mechanics, and have done research in materials modeling and solid-state physics. They are interested in research areas such as lasers, quantum optics, and solid-state physics, but are also considering employment opportunities after graduation. They are wondering if liking E&M is necessary for success in physics grad school, and are recommended a book to gain a better understanding of the subject.
creepypasta13
Hi all! I graduated last year with my BS in physics and math. I am kind of confused about my choice to do physics in grad school, even though if I get my phD I probably wouldn't want to go into academia. I would like to do research in a government lab. I am comfortable with those theoretical and abstract concepts, and doing computational but not experimental work. Luckily, I heard that theoretical physicists with strong computational skills can easily find jobs in industry. But I want the job to involve physics and/or engineering, so I don't want to work as a programmer or in WS