Invalidating a patent directed to physical laws

In summary: The patent claims certain structures with a certain desirable property. The patent discloses two methods of generating these structures with this property. The thing is, people have been using those two methods to create these structures with this property well before the patent came out -- people weren't sure why these two methods produced the desired property, but they did. The patentee's contribution was to figure out the physics behind why the two methods generated the desirable property in these structures. He then worked the "why" into his patent claim to overcome the Patent & Trademark Office's objections that his "invention" was not new. Essentially, the patentee discovered that these two methods had certain effects on the structures at the atomic
Polinomial
I'm an attorney trying to invalidate a patent that I believe is directed to patent-ineligible subject matter. It's been an interesting exercise, and I'd love to hear other ideas/suggestions/etc. on how to approach it.

At a high level, the patent claims certain structures with a certain desirable property. The patent discloses two methods of generating these structures with this property. The thing is, people have been using those two methods to create these structures with this property well before the patent came out -- people weren't sure why these two methods produced the desired property, but they did. The patentee's contribution was to figure out the physics behind why the two methods generated the desirable property in these structures.