Is a bachelor in Physics a good idea for Engineering?

In summary, the conversation discusses the dilemma of a high school student from Spain who is interested in both physics and engineering. The student is unsure which field to pursue in university and is seeking advice on which degree would best prepare them for their desired career in research and development. While the student is fascinated by physics and wants to learn about the world and its workings, they also see the practical applications of engineering and are drawn to that field. The conversation also mentions the option of a dual degree in math and physics, as well as the potential challenges of switching from a physics degree to an engineering degree. Ultimately, the experts advise the student to choose the field that aligns with their career goals and to take advantage of elective courses to gain a broader knowledge
lh9713
Hello!
I am a senior High School student from Spain.
The next year I'll start university, and I am full of doubts.
Personally, I am absolutely fascinated about Physics. I want to study it to learn about the world, why it is like it is and so on... I have seen the subjects and I think they are all interesting.
However, when I think about the job I would like to have, the first thing that comes to my mind is engineering. Like, ideally, I would like to work in research and development of some scientific project. Yet, I´ve look upon the subjects and engineering and they are more focused on the applications rather than on "why".
I had planned to get into a Physics degree (4 years) or into a Math-Physics degree (5 years) here in Spain, do my best to get the best GPA I can and then apply to a good Engineering program somewhere in the USA.
I would appreciate if you could give me your insight!
Regards :oldeyes:

Physics news on Phys.org