Is doing top-end theoretical physics hard?

In summary, the conversation discusses the passion for theoretical physics and concerns about the future career prospects for graduates in the field. It also delves into the possibility of becoming a skilled theoretical physicist through self-study and the rarity of major physics breakthroughs by non-physicists. The importance of being a dedicated and qualified professional in the field of physics is emphasized, as well as the potential for pursuing a career in medicine as a backup option.
LightingBolt
Hi,

I am a enthusiastic student (not yet in University) but am mature for my age so please read on...

I am deeply passionate about Theoretical Physics (Practically fell in love with it) but also I am concerned about future, as much as I do want to pursue Physics in University I feel a lot of the graduates do not even get their profession they want, for example many mathematicians and physicists became involved in finance. As opposed to physics.

This kind of bugs me, as all the skill they had honed over years that could control nature has finally come to moving money around the globe.

As a result I want to pursue my other interest (Medicine) which not only is well-paid and in demand across the world but is very interesting. Cardiothoracic or neurosurgery seems very interesting field for me but I love physics more.

As a result I want to ask whether theoretical physics can be learned by reading books and studying mathematics and on internet (like from here :D). Is it possible to be just as skilled in theoretical physics by learning through home as a physicists who done masters in theoretical physics?

Has any major physics breakthroughs happen through non-physicists?

Physics news on Phys.org
Major breakthroughs are far more likely to be made by people who have dedicated their life and energy to a subject, but it's not impossible to imagine a 'layman' proposing some revolutionary theory.