Is evolution deterministic or chaotic?

In summary, it seems that evolution would be different every time it was repeated, but that some features (like the eye) might emerge again consistently.
madness
I don't know much about biology, my background is in maths and physics. Hopefully someone else here knows it better than me. Anyway, I was wondering if evolution would go the same way if it were repeated again with the same (or very nearly the same) initial conditions. I'm not sure how much evolution has been studied in the context of dynamical systems, but I can imagine many points of (quasi) stable equilibrium which life could have settled into, meaning it would be different every time. On the other hand, I've heard that the human type of eye is known to have evolved independently several times, which might imply that we would get basically the same life arising given the same initial conditions. Does anyone know about this? Is it an open question or has it been answered? Thanks.

Biology news on Phys.org
I don't think HUMAN type eye evolved several times, I seem to remember EYE evolved on several occasions.

Well I've heard that several different types of eye have evolved independently (e.g octopus' eye is different from a human eye), but I've also heard that at least one type of eye evolved the same way independently several times.

OK, but that's not the same as "human eye" evolving independently several times.

Also note that same type of eye doesn't necesarilly mean identical eye. There are situations when similar structures evolved in a very different way. Lame example (but I can't think of a better one) - rhino has a horn and elk has a horn, but one is made of bone, the other is mostly keratin.