Is there a software to effectively track project progress?

In summary, a manager must keep in contact with their co-workers, but not so much that no work gets done. They should use software to help them with the drudge work of management, but there is no 'management app' they can load on their phone to take over running this project. Without knowing more about this project, like how big or how small, a manager must stay in contact with their co-workers, but not so much that no work gets done.
serbring
Hi all,

I'm a researcher at a university and I got an important project with a company. For the first time in my professional life I need to cooperate both with a PhD student and an industrial partner and I should mostly coordinate the project. I want to perform well and to do this, I think I need to constantly have a clear picture of the project status with all the needed tasks, the not clear information and all the incoming things. Is there any way to carry out this? Is there any software able to carry out it? Any suggestion is welcome.

Thanks

Physics news on Phys.org
serbring said:
Hi all,

I'm a researcher at a university and I got an important project with a company. For the first time in my professional life I need to cooperate both with a PhD student and an industrial partner and I should mostly coordinate the project. I want to perform well and to do this, I think I need to constantly have a clear picture of the project status with all the needed tasks, the not clear information and all the incoming things. Is there any way to carry out this? Is there any software able to carry out it? Any suggestion is welcome.

Thanks
Well, you are no longer just a 'researcher' anymore. You have now become that dreaded beast known as a 'manager', to use one of the more polite appellations.