Just finished my A Levels, maths study advice before uni?

In summary, the author recommends programming and electronics as two useful ways to expand one's knowledge.
Tibbz
Hi everyone,

So I'm currently in the middle of my summer holiday (waiting for A Level results) and I'm getting pretty bored of not knowing what to do. (I have contacted some charities for volunteer work but still waiting to hear, anyway that's beside the point)

At A Level I studied Maths (Core 1-4, Mechanics 1 and 2) and Further maths (Further Pure 1-3, Mech 3, Stats 1, Decision 1) , so I have some knowledge of calculus, vectors (3d lines, planes), 1st/2nd order differential equations, mechanics, complex numbers etc.

Basically I want to continue to expand on my maths/physics knowledge before I (hopefully) go to university in September to study physics. However I don't really know where to start from, could anyone offer some advice on what topics of maths(or physics) that I could look into and hopefully understand/learn from my current level of knowledge?

Thanks! :)

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
Are you going for physics?

Then read the Feynman lectures!

axmls said:
Are you going for physics?

Then read the Feynman lectures!

Ah yes I do have those bookmarked, and have read some of the early pages already :) I will continue do read them!

You've pretty much covered all the relevant maths you're realistically going to need or indeed be able to grasp at this stage. Anything else you'll either not need or will be taught to you in a lot more depth once you begin your course anyway.

Reviewing the Feynman Lectures is a great idea on the physics side however as they help develop your physical intuition. You could find an old copy of Young and Freedman on ebay or something and work through some of that, since University Physics with Modern Physics is basically every single topic you'll do in first year (although some,
e.g. mechanics and EM, you'll probably go into more depth on).