Lightning -- real simulation

Hopper_18
TL;DR Summary
For an honors project for my ENM class I was thinking about creating an actual lightning cloud to better study lightning.
Hello,

I’m not 100% where to post this but I think it fits best here.

I am currently a community college student who is trying to do an honors project for my electronegativity and magnetism course. I am interested in meteorology and know that there are aspects of lightning that are unknown. I was therefore hoping to create a project that would combine my love of meteorology with enm to make a cool honors project.

I was thinking of making a laboratory environment where cumulonimbus cloud could be made by creating a warm updraft, through the use of some heating device on ground and then get the temperature at the top of the area to be 25F. I would also add some silver iodide, for cloud seeding ingredient to effectively make a cloud.

However, I can’t seem to find a ratio of how much I would need to make a specific size cloud so if anyone can direct me that would be greatly appreciated. Once the cloud was made I’d get some very negative above the cloud so that by inductance the cloud part near the ground would become negatively charged.

I can slowly work up to the point where the inductance is great enough on the cloud that the electron initiate a creatation of a stepped leader which could then be scaled to determine if it follows with real atmospheric models. Does anyone think this could be physically done in a community college lab or is this to ambitious or just not feasible? Also if when reading this anyone has any other ideas for interesting meteorology projects feel free to share! Thank you in advance :)

Last edited by a moderator:
Engineering news on Phys.org
It is far too ambitious an experiment.

The shape of the lightning ionisation path is dependent on scale.
A breakdown and following discharge through air happens in a curved path, an arc.