Limitations on water siphoning

• Thread starter CalvinandHobbes
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Water
In summary: Priming and then pumping water every time 10,000 litres needs to be transported seems like a lot of work.
CalvinandHobbes
TL;DR Summary
If lift water 9,5m high (initially with a pump till it reaches bend), can I raise the level to which 2nd reservoir is filled by installing a siphon drain inside 1st reservoir and empty reservoir no1?
I have no engineering background so apologies if I'm trying to create alchemy without pumps.
I need to empty 10 000l reservoir 4 times a day into a larger vessel, which is slightly lower, but I first have to cross a 9,5m high barrier (site is located about 15m above sea level)
I gather the siphon will only work to deposit the water lower than the intake. Would it be possible to raise the intake level of reservoir no 1 to the top of a siphon drain (a funnel located inside a larger pipe that is closed 1 end) [explanation is just to clarify what i mean as I don't have the correct terminology], or does it remain at the bottom of lowest point of the pipe)?
Is there a risk that the siphon drain can reduce the flow to much and therefore loose the siphon effect of the total installation and makes it counter productive?
Attach a simple sketch to try and illustrate

Siphon Tank discharge.jpg

Engineering news on Phys.org
A siphon will only transport water until 1) the free surface level of the two reservoirs are at the same height and 2) only if the lifting distance (i.e. the distance from the highest surface to the top of the pipe at any given time) is less than around 10 m which is the maximum height you can "suck up" water through a pipe via vacuum pumps.

From your description it appears that your setup may be at or very near either of those conditions.

Filip Larsen said: