Limits to Superconductor Energy Storage?

In summary, the conversation discusses the use of superconductors for energy storage and their limitations. Superconductors have a critical current and size limit for energy storage, and their strong magnetic fields make them impractical for home use. However, by using toroid loops, the external magnetic fields can be reduced. Cooling methods for superconductors have also evolved from using liquid helium to more efficient and less expensive options. Despite their advantages in rapid response, superconductors are still too expensive and complicated for home use, making normal batteries a more sensible option for households.
John Morrell
I'm just starting to learn about the physics behind Faraday's laws and magnetic flux and it's gotten me thinking a lot about superconductors. I know that you can store energy in a superconductor in the form of magnetic fields since a current in a superconducting loop will persist indefinitely. What are the drawbacks to this? I assume there must be some fairly low ceiling for how much energy we can store in them, or else their utility would more than make up for the inconvenience of keeping them cool...

Physics news on Phys.org
There's a critical current at which a material will cease to behave as a superconductor.
See http://www.open.edu/openlearn/science-maths-technology/engineering-and-technology/engineering/superconductivity/content-section-2.5

Superconductors ARE used for energy storage; so-called SMES systems have been used commercially for a few years. The systems are very efficient but costly and are therefore mainly used for power conditioning; i.e. to avoid "brown outs"