Looking for help finding programs

• Thread starter Math_Physics
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Programs
In summary, the speaker is looking for a PHD program in mathematical physics and is having difficulty finding programs with multiple researchers in the field. They have compiled a list of potential programs and are open to suggestions. They have also considered physics departments for their research and are wondering if there are programs that accept students with a math background. They are determined to find a program that aligns with their interests, despite the challenges.
Math_Physics
Hello,

I am wanting to go into mathematical physics for a PHD in a math department. I have a bachelors in math and soon my masters in math. I am looking for programs to apply to. I am having a hard time finding many. I don't want to go to a school that has only one researcher in the field just in case it doesn't work out. I have a list of ones I have found. If you have any other suggests for me to look into that would be awesome. Thank you!

University of Iowa
University of California Davis
Rutgers
Clarkson

Physics news on Phys.org
I'm still surfing through every program I can find with a phd. I have found a couple more that have a decent amount, or at least 3 researchers in mathematical physics.

University of Rochester
University of Waterloo

A friend in my analysis class today suggested to me I should be in a physics department if I want to work on mathematical physics. Is this so? I have looked at in the last few days I think literally close to 100 different departments for mathematics. My eyes are bleeding from this lol. Do physics departments typically do research in mathematical physics? Are there physics programs that will let you in for a masters if you earned a math bachelors and math masters?

I am fairly certain I know what I'm aiming at, but it just seems like it doesn't exist in many math departments.

Any help would be awesome!