PhD Programs for Mathematical Physics (Experimental Condensed Matter Physics)

In summary: Additionally, it is important to consider specific projects and skills that you want to develop through your PhD, as this may be more valuable to the industry rather than just having a degree in mathematical physics. It is also important to look at recent graduates from potential universities and see where they have ended up, as this can give insight into the opportunities available. The US News Ranking system may not necessarily be the best way to create a list of potential universities, and it may be beneficial to look at a wider range of schools rather than just the top 50. Ultimately, it is necessary to do thorough research, visit campuses, and speak with potential supervisors and current students to narrow down the list of potential universities to
advhaver
HI,

I am an International Student studying in the US (at a "liberal arts" small college ranked in the Top 20 as per US News Rankings). I will graduate in 2024 and intend to apply for PhD programs in Mathematical Physics starting October 2023 for admission in 2024.

GPA: I am a double major in Physics (3.9 GPA) and Mathematics (3.8 GPA), with an overall GPA of 3.85.

Research: As an international, I was not qualified for any REU. However, I have worked part-time as a research assistant with a college professor during the school year (May 2022 to now), including working full-time during the two summers (2022 and 2023). The 2021 summer was a washout due to Covid restrictions.

Recommendation Letters: I have three recommendation letters from Physics professors, including one for whom I have worked as a research assistant. I can also muster a 4th recommendation letter from a Maths professor who will be my senior thesis advisor in Maths.