Making an Armature from scratch

• Thread starter FreddieAzoth
  • Start date
  • Tags
    scratch
In summary, making an armature from scratch involves creating a skeletal framework for a sculpture or other three-dimensional object. This process typically involves constructing a wire frame and then covering it with a material such as clay or paper mache. The armature serves as the foundation for the final piece, providing support and structure while also allowing for adjustments and additions to be made during the sculpting process. While it may be a time-consuming and intricate process, making an armature from scratch allows for complete creative control and can result in a more unique and personalized end product.
FreddieAzoth
TL;DR Summary
Making an Armature from scratch.
Im new to electrical engineering and wanted to make an Armature from scratch, if anyone knows the parts or an estimated cost of the item that would be appreciated. Thank you.

Engineering news on Phys.org
:welcome:
Armature usually means the rotating part of a dynamo or motor or generator. ( Although it's possible to do it inside out.)

To be useful, the armature needs to be matched with a stator (the part that doesn't rotate.) What size and type of stator do you have? Usually, there is a nameplate on the stator. A photo of that nameplate would be helpful.

Likes FreddieAzoth
Currently I do not have any sort of equipment including a stator, but I shall look into how to get one. Thanks

We made electrical motors as a project in High School.

I made mine out of Bic pens wound with copper wire. (Note: do not use Bic pens - or any kind of soft plastic - as the core of your winding coils!)

I was impressed when my academically-inclined (ex)-girlfriend produced her own tiny electric motor made out of paper clips. It was no bigger than a deck of cards!Moral of the story: your options are nigh-unlimited. It can be as large and as costly or as small and cheap as you desire.

Likes FreddieAzoth