Mathematica: Convolution Integral

In summary, the code provided performs a convolution integral using the functions a, b, c, and d. However, there is an error message stating that the argument of the sin function is not numerical. This is because the argument should be dimensionless, with k multiplied by x instead of divided by x. The plot also does not show up. Suggestions are needed to fix the code.
QuantumKnoll
Hi all! I'm new to Mathematica.
I have written a code for performing a convolution integral (as follows) but it seems to be giving out error messages:

My code is:

a[x_?NumericQ] := PDF[NormalDistribution[40, 2], x]
b[k_?NumericQ, x_?NumericQ] := 0.0026*Sin[1.27*k/x]^2
c[k_?NumericQ, x_?NumericQ] := {a[x]*b[k, x]}
d[k_?NumericQ] := NIntegrate[c[k, x], {x, 0, Infinity}]
Plot [d[k], {k, 0, 350}]

It gives the following error message multiple times:

ntegrand c[0.00715,x] is not numerical at {x} = {124.67}And the plot dosen't show up..!
Does anyone have any suggestions on how to fix it ?

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
The argument of the sin function is wrong. It must be dimensionless, i.e. k multiplied by x not divided by x.

What is a convolution integral in Mathematica?

A convolution integral in Mathematica is a mathematical operation that combines two functions to create a new function. It is often used in signal processing, image processing, and other areas where data is manipulated or transformed.

How do I perform a convolution integral in Mathematica?

To perform a convolution integral in Mathematica, you can use the built-in function Convolve or the * operator. Convolve takes two functions as input and returns the convolution integral of those functions. The * operator can be used to multiply two functions and then integrate them.

What is the purpose of using a convolution integral in Mathematica?