[Matlab] Simulation of Stochastic Process

In summary, the conversation is about a beginner trying to simulate a Mean Reverting process using MATLAB. The code provided seems to run fine and the plot looks reasonable, but the beginner is not sure if it is correct. Upon further inspection, it is pointed out that there are some errors in the discretization of the Wiener increment. Suggestions are provided for correcting the code, such as multiplying dW by the square root of dt. It is also recommended to refer to resources such as the Wikipedia entry for the first order scheme and the book of Kloeden and Platen for higher order methods.
FrancescoMi
Hi all,
I have this dynamic:
2vwuyph.png

is a Mean Reverting process. I want to simulate the sde with MATLAB but I am a beginner and I have some problems. I show you the code that I have created:

Code:
%% Simulazione prezzo Geometric Ornstein-Ulenbeck

clear all
clc

%Parameters
mu = 0.5;
sigma = 0.12;
eta = 1;
T = 2;
N_t = 300; %Temporal Intervals
N = 1000; %Number of Simulations
t=linspace(0,T,N_t); %Temporal line

dt=T/N_t; %Temporal increments
P_t=zeros(N,N_t); 
P_t(:,1)=20; %First Price

%Model
for i=1:N
    for j=2:N_t
        dW = randn;
        P_t(i,j) = P_t(i,j-1) + eta*(mu-log(P_t(i,j-1)))*P_t(i,j-1)*dt+sigma*P_t(i,j-1)*dW;
    end
end

plot(t,P_t(1,:));

But I don't know if it is correct. Can you help me?

Physics news on Phys.org
The code seems to run fine and the plot looks reasonable. Is there some reason that you think it is wrong?

kreil said:
The code seems to run fine and the plot looks reasonable. Is there some reason that you think it is wrong?

Because is my first work alone and I'm not sure of the cicle. Do you think it's ok?

It is not OK. The discretization of the Wiener increment is wrong. Here is the first link that I could find that explains how to do it correctly in Matlab:

http://www.caam.rice.edu/~cox/stoch/dhigham.pdf