May I treat the light from a star as a light beam?

In summary, the conversation discusses the approximation of treating starlight as a point source and a line when studying wavefront evolution, and the desire to extend this approximation to a light beam. The speaker suggests considering a plane perpendicular to a specific direction and only accounting for photons propagating along that direction. The conversation also touches on the use of Gaussian beams in modeling light and the need for further clarification on the specific measurements being studied.
Haorong Wu
TL;DR Summary
Is the approximation that the starlight in a long distance forms a light beam usable?
Hi. I am studying the wavefront evolution of light from a star. In the papers I have read, the star is often treated as a point source and the light is approximated as a line (geodesics), but this approximation is not very useful when I study the wavefront evolution, so I want to extend the approximation to a light beam. Here are my reasons:

I am considering a plane that is perpendicular to some direction ##\hat n_k## and is far away from the star. Then I think only photons propagating along that direction ##\hat n_k## can reach the area I am interested in, so the light can be approximated as a beam that has the same radius as the star has.

Is this approximation correct? Thanks.

Science news on Phys.org
Haorong Wu said:
so the light can be approximated as a beam that has the same radius as the star has.
What do you mean? The star has an absolutely tiny angular diameter. Much less than its image on the sensor.
If you mean to treat the beam of light as having a diameter that's the same as the physical diameter of the star, well no, you can't do that. That wouldn't make any sense in terms of optics.

Haorong Wu said: