Mechanical Engineering student about to lose his mind

In summary: Brandon,In summary, Brandon is a second year student at Salt Lake Community College who is about to finish his associates of science pre-engineering and transfer to the University of Utah in the fall. He is feeling lost and confused sometimes and is struggling to remember how to do things from previous courses. Brandon says it is normal to feel this way and advises staying consistent with using past knowledge and resources.
Brandon Corwin
I am a second year student at Salt Lake Community College. About to finish my associates of science pre-engineering. I transfer to the University of Utah in the fall to start my junior year and I am kind of freeking out. I have worked my tail off. I work a full time job and take night classes at 3/4 time (3 classes a semester) and maintain a 3.4 GPA.

Lately I feel like I haven't learned a thing. I am taking classes now that are starting to draw on knowledge gained from previous courses. An example would be, my strengths of materials class is requiring a lot what I learned in statics. Only now, I have a hard time applying what I learned in statics because I can't remember how to do it. I feel lost and confused sometimes. It only takes a few moments to look up the information to remember how to do it but I feel like I should know this stuff. Like it should just role of the tounge or flow on to paper with ease.

I don't know. I guess I'm trying to reach out to people and see how they felt as engineering students. Is this kind of thing normal? Feeling lost in a field of study you have so much interest in? How the hell am I supposed remember thousands of different equations, properties and... things?

Ugh... Brain fried.. Going to sleep.

Thanks for listening,

Brandon

Physics news on Phys.org