Mixed states from entangled state

In summary: For our simple example, the results are:##\rho(1)_{UU} = \rho(2)_{UU} =\rho(1)_{DD} =\rho(2)_{DD} =\frac{1}{2}####\rho(1)_{UD} = \rho(2)_{UD} =\rho(1)_{DU} =\rho(2)_{DU} = 0##
ilikesquareobjects
TL;DR Summary
Let p be a pure quantum state (entanglement entropy=0), and p1 and p2 two entangled sub-states, obtained by partially tracing over the other. We know the sum of the entropies of p1 and p2 is strictly positive (because they are entangled), hence at least one of the two is a mixed state. But can we prove both of them are mixed?
I'm an undergrad in physics, and have been asking myself the following question recently. Suppose you have a pure quantum state p (von neumann entropy=0), made of 2 sub-states p1 and p2 that are entangled. Because they are entangled, p \neq p1 x p2. Hence the entanglement entropy of p (=0) is strictly smaller than the sum of the entropies of p1 and p2. Then at least one of the 2 sub-states must be a mixed state, their entropies can't both be zero. Until now, everything makes sense.

However, I have the impression that p1 and p2 should both be mixed. It seems like it wouldn't physically make sense to have, as bi-products of a pure state p, a pure state p1 and a mixed state p2. It seems strange if they're entangled to one another. Unfortunately I don't know how to prove that both p1 and p2 are mixed. Perhaps there's a proof I can't seem to write, or maybe my intuition is wrong. Either way, I'd be grateful for some help! Thanks in advance :)

Physics news on Phys.org
This might be a terminology issue. Let's take a specific example, the canonical entangled state:

##|\psi\rangle = \frac{1}{\sqrt{2}} (|U, D\rangle - |D, U\rangle)##

where ##U## means spin-up and ##D## means spin-down (in the z-direction, for example).

More abstractly, ##|\psi\rangle = \sum_{i j} C_{ij} |i, j\rangle##