Molecular Orbital Diagrams, learning how to draw?

In summary, the conversation starts with Declan, a PhD student of physics, asking for recommendations on books that detail the basic rules of drawing MO diagrams for his research on transition metal oxides. The other person suggests using electronic structure packages to calculate and generate accurate MO diagrams, but Declan finds it to be time-consuming and not suitable for bulk crystal structures. He then asks if there is any literature or basic software available that can guide him in drawing rough MO diagrams. The other person suggests asking for help in the Solid-state physics forum and explains that line-diagrams are usually drawn after obtaining the appropriate energy values.
ApeXaviour
Hi,
So I'm a phd student of physics, but my research overlaps a little with inorganic chemistry, specifically transition metal oxides and spectroscopies of them. I can glean some information MO diagrams and find them quite useful when writing about what I'm doing... however it's difficult to find ready made MO diagrams for all the compounds I'm studying, and if I do they're rather inconsistent in design thus making my papers/reports/thesis look messy.

I've been told however that they're relatively easy to draw by oneself, just a few rules to follow and a few properties to know.

Any chemistry books I've glanced at are either too basic and don't go into enough detail, or they're too complicated and assume you know how to make them already.

Any chance someone can recommend me a book that details the basic rules of drawing these? e.g. for IrO2?

Cheers :)

Declan

Chemistry news on Phys.org
ApeXaviour said:
Hi,