Need help calculating torque required

• Thread starter Usman Maqsood
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Torque
In summary, the conversation discusses the task of designing a rotating wooden column that needs to spin 360 degrees in 5 steps of 72 degrees each. The material used is wood and the necessary components for rotating the column, such as a stepper motor and gear, are mentioned. The issue at hand is determining the necessary torque to spin the column, which will help determine the appropriate motor size. The conversation also mentions the need to consider the moment of inertia and provides a potential method for estimating the torque.
Usman Maqsood
Hello! I am an electrical engineer and have taken on a task to design a rotating wooden column. See attached image of the column.

The requirements are to spin the column 360 degrees in 5 steps of 72 degrees each. The material used is wood.

I know what I need to do in order to get it to spin (stepper motor, gear, shaft, bearing etc). How fast does the column need to spin? Not fast. The stepper motor can be stepped however fast the design needs to be (up to a limit).

The issue: I don't know how much torque is needed to spin the column. This seems to be a slightly complex problem which I don't have the right background to answer.

The torque estimation will help me figure out what size motor i can use.

So, I would like to be pointed in the right direction to calculate the torque (internet references, reading materials, actual weight measurements etc).

Thanks for looking!

Attachments

• image1.png
    image1.png
    43.1 KB · Views: 491
Engineering news on Phys.org
Welcome to PF.
If it is rotating about the vertical axis then very little torque will be needed.
You must accelerate it, then decelerate it. So it all depends on how quickly you need to move it.

You will need some idea of the rotating mass and the radius since moment of inertia is important.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Moment_of_inertia