Need help in finding COM of a hollow hemisphere

In summary, the student tries to calculate the COM of a hemisphere, but is unable to find the correct answer. He is then helped by a tutor who explains that integration is used to find the correct answer.
navneet9431
Gold Member

Homework Statement

Hey everyone,
I'm studying for my physics and came across a question for the COM of a hemisphere.I made my attempt to calculate the COM.

Homework Equations

cmp3.gif

The Attempt at a Solution

I tried to calculate the y coordinate of COM this way,please go through it-
IMG_20180819_180220.jpg

But,I am unable to reach the correct result.Please help me to proceed further!
I will be thankful for any help.

Attachments

• cmp3.gif
    cmp3.gif
    5 KB · Views: 672
  • IMG_20180819_180220.jpg
    IMG_20180819_180220.jpg
    63.2 KB · Views: 389
Physics news on Phys.org
##dy## in your drawing is not actually ##dy##. ##dy## would be a vertical line. That angled line ##ds## is longer, do you see that? Use ##\theta## to find its length. Then I think you'll get it.

verty said:
##dy## in your drawing is not actually ##dy##. ##dy## would be a vertical line. That angled line ##ds## is longer, do you see that? Use ##\theta## to find its length. Then I think you'll get it.
Thanks but I can see how dy is a vertical line!
Can you send a rough diagram showing that?

navneet9431 said:
Thanks but I can see how dy is a vertical line!
Can you send a rough diagram showing that?

##dy## is the thickness of the disc. ##ds## is the length of the edge. Do you understand?

Likes navneet9431
verty said:
##dy## is the thickness of the disc. ##ds## is the length of the edge. Do you understand?
Ok!
So what should I use for calculating the area of the element?
Should I use dy?

navneet9431 said:
Ok!
So what should I use for calculating the area of the element?
Should I use dy?