Need help preparing for Courant's Calculus

In summary: If you want to focus on design and mechanics, you should consider taking a course in design Engineering instead.In summary, Dr.D, you should focus on preparing yourself for a rigorous academic course in mechanics of materials, and undergraduate engineering, before even thinking about tackling Shigley's Mechanical Engineering Design.
superdupernoob
Hello,

Just to give you some background info, I'm a software developer looking to make a career switch to Mechanical Engineering (At least I think so). My interests lie in design, complex systems, maglev, rockets and new forms of space propulsion. Before I really commit myself to University, I would like to get my feet wet in Physics/Engineering. Most likely I'd major in Applied Physics or Engineering Physics.

Ultimately, my goal is to get through "Fundamental University Physics" by Alonso / Finn and then to get through Shigley's Mechanical Engineering Design. Alonso's text seems to require some heavy duty Calculus and Courant's Calculus book seems to have a lot of practical application problems so I think the two would compliment one another.

The only problem is, I'm not exactly sure what kind of Precalclus prep I would need for that. Mathwonk's favorite Precalculus book seems to be "The Principles of Mathematics" by Carl Barnett Allendoerfer, which looks to be a rigorous and proof focused trek through Precalculus. I'm not sure that this would be the best book for me if my preferences lean toward the more practical.

Generally to prep myself for Calculus I've been following a rough outline of what many here have already suggested:

Algebra:
-Elementary Algebra by Jacobs
-Algebra by Gelfand
-Functions and Graphs Gelfand

Geometry:
-Geometry 2nd Edition by Jacobs
-Geometry Revisited by Coxeter

Trigonometry:
-Trigonometry by Gelfand

General:
-What is Mathematics by Courant