Need help with project -- power steering system design

In summary: There are many available online or in bookstores.Once you have a general idea of what you need to design, you can start looking for specific information.
christyu
Design Project

You will undertake a detailed engineering design of a specified product. This will include:
- Analysis of all functional requirement of the product
- Consideration of various preliminary design options (possible solutions)
- Detailed analysis of engineering performance (analytical and FEA); e.g. stress, deflection, stability (buckling etc.), fatigue, strength of joints (welds, bolts, screws, rivets, adhesives etc.)
- Preliminary proposal of manufacturing methods and materials for custom components and overall assembly of the final product
- Details of off-the-shelf components to be used
- Cost estimate

This is my first project with no prior engineering experience so I'm not sure about the initial approaches.The project topic that I need to work on is power steering system which I have no knowledge of (I'm going to go through all information and learn them using the internet). As the power steering system is quite a broad term, I'll have to choose specific part of the power steering system to narrow things down (professor agreed to this). Could you guys provide any helpful advices of what I should go for along with simple design suggestion?

thank you

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
Anyone? this is ME405 machine design course, I'm having lot of trouble with this.

christyu said:
Design Project

You will undertake a detailed engineering design of a specified product. This will include:
- Analysis of all functional requirement of the product
- Consideration of various preliminary design options (possible solutions)
- Detailed analysis of engineering performance (analytical and FEA); e.g. stress, deflection, stability (buckling etc.), fatigue, strength of joints (welds, bolts, screws, rivets, adhesives etc.)