Negating the cantilever effect for this latching mechanism

In summary, the sketch attached shows a desired effect vs. the actual behavior. The desired effect is for the piston to move from the bottom of the bushing to the top. However, the actual behavior is for the piston to move from the top of the bushing to the bottom. There are a few things that can be done to try and counteract this, but none of them seem to be working.
jeffberube
Please excuse my poor explanation in advance, I'm not an engineer. I have a latching mechanism that has an off center piston and needs to get actioned from a 'cantilevered' position. Please see attached (crappy) sketch of desired effect vs real world behaviour. Is there any solutions to negate the cantilever effect?

latch-sketch.jpg

Attachments

• latch-sketch.jpg
    latch-sketch.jpg
    23.5 KB · Views: 1,541
Engineering news on Phys.org
There are a few things that can be done:

Make sure that there is a good fit with the piston and the bushing.
Make sure that the bushing fits snugly into the drilled hole.
Make sure that the material that is holding the bushing is rigid.

After that check list:

You may want to extend the bushing so that the piston comes in contact with only the bushing.
You may want to apply a lubricant to the piston.

Finally:
If none of that works, you may want to put apply two Teflon pads, one to the latch surface and the other to the bulk material surface. This will keep the latch from tilting towards the bulk surface - and provide some lubrication.

The force of the latch is side loading the Delrin bushing enough that normal friction causes binding. There are multiple things you can do, and you may need to do all of them.
1) Reduce the hook force by adding a lubricant or plastic pad to the latch.
2) Make sure the piston slides freely. This means a smooth surface, and has correct clearance to the Delrin bushing.