[noob] simple parity violation

In summary, the conversation discusses the violation of parity in a decay process in particle physics. The process involves two scalar particles with positive parity, but the resulting parity is negative due to the odd orbital angular momentum system. The conversation also mentions the conservation of angular momentum and the composition of two particles into a single system. It is concluded that while the rules of composition of angular momentum apply to spin, they do not apply to orbital momentum. The conversation ends with a request for a formalization of this concept in basic quantum mechanics.
kknull
hi,
I'm studying parity violation in particle physics..

I have this decay:

1+ ---> 0+ + 0+

in J^P notation.

Why this process violate parity? All terms have positive parity.
The parity of the products is just (+1)*(+1)*(-1)^l,
so this means that the two scalar particles form an odd orbital angular momentum system?

Physics news on Phys.org
There certainly must be orbital angular momentum. Or else you cannot conserve J.

well, J shouldn't be conserved in any ways in this situation, right?
the composition of the 2 particles should give J_tot = 0 in any case

The conservation of angular momentum should give J_inital=J_final. In this case J_in=1 so this lead to J_fin=1. The final particles are spin 0 particle so J=L=1. This also bring to:

$$P_{f}=(+1)(+1)(-1)^L=-1$$

which is in contrast with the initial parity.

yes, but we have a composition of 2 J=0 states, so there shouldn't be any ways of conserving angular momentum, and this reaction shouldn't happen for this reason.
However, this book: http://books.google.it/books?id=HNcQ_EiuTxcC&lpg=PP1&hl=it&pg=PA88#v=onepage&q&f=false

says that the reaction has parity conservation problems, but in principle can happen if strong interaction would violate parity, which sounds wrong to me, because it would violate angular momentum, not parity...

EDIT: wait, I'm reading the last reply :P