Overcoming Shyness to Succeed as an Engineer

• Engineering
  • Thread starter thepatient
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Engineer
In summary, an engineer has to be a financial analyst, a designer, a programmer, a salesman, and other things. An engineer also has to be able to communicate well with others.
thepatient
Hey, so I'm currently a year away from graduating with a B.S. in Mechanical Engineering. I chose this major because I love physics and mathematics and applying them. Right know I'm really enjoying fluid mechanics, linear algebra, etc.

I have a professor this semester who is a professional engineer and has worked extensively in the field. He mentioned a little about how the field is and how the engineer plays many roles and doesn't simply work in one field. An engineer has to be a financial analyst, a designer, a programmer, a salesman, and other things. When a client comes with a problem, you have to come up with a solution and sell that solution to the client. I'm not good at selling though, I'm painfully shy. I'm afraid my lack of being a good salesman and lack of being good in groups would keep me from being a good engineer. I always feel claustrophobic in large groups. I currently work in retail and talk to many people, but it's a bit different because everyone asks the same thing and I sell the same thing every day (horrid job). I also tutor part time physics and math, but I tutor through an online company so I don't have to meet face to face with students. I am joining a honor society for mechanical engineering, but I feel so claustrophobic in the classroom with all the members while in tutoring sessions. I think maybe I have ADHD. When I get nervous and trying to have a conversation with someone I lose my train of thought half way through when trying to explain something. When working on something that requires extreme concentration, after several hours of work I can unfocus. For example, after working on projects or homework for several hours before